How to get out of a style rut

stylerut-2

We’ve all been there. It’s Monday morning and  you’re in your underwear, standing in front of your closet, thinking I have nothing to wear. You go through your dresser and closet, tossing tops and bottoms onto your bed, trying to find an outfit combination you feel good in and before you know it you are 20 minutes late for work. I know, I know… this is barely a problem, but feeling like you are in a style rut is something that most of us face every now and then.

I find that I usually encounter most of my style rut’s during the winter, when I continue to wear the same sweater and pant combos over and over again. I would love to be able to freshen up my closet every now and then with a new cashmere sweater here and a pair of ankle boots there but like most people, I can’t afford to buy new clothes every other week (and I wouldn’t have the space to store it all).  This has forced me to think outside of the box (and the shopping mall) to find new and creative ways to broaden the amount of outfit possiblities available to me. Read along as I breakdown the different ways I break out of a style rut.

Complete a Closet Overhaul

messycloset-2 (1)

My closet before the overhaul

You can’t expect to pull out a flawless head to toe look from your closet if you can barely find what you’re looking for, especially if you’re in a rush. By going through your entire wardrobe and organizing all of your pieces, it will be much easier to create combinations that you are happy with. I bet you this overhaul will also lead you to unearth some clothing or accessories that you forgot about! There are some great organizing tips to help you get started here.

IMG_20160312_160800-2

After the Overhaul

 

Wearing night time pieces during the day and vice versa

Just because something seems like it is meant for an evening out or a special occasion doesn’t mean you have to stick to that logic. By not limiting yourself to  wearing certain pieces during specific times of the day you will double the amount of outfit options you have at your disposal. For example, try pairing that black silk camisole that you usually reserve for a Saturday night out at work on casual Friday by pairing it with an oversized men’s style blazer and a pair of slim leg black trousers and flats.

Accessories are your friend

accessoried-2.jpg

A great hat, a classic timepiece or a chic bag in a vibrant colour can take any outfit from zero to a hundred. Accessories can change the whole feel of an entire outfit so make sure they are in full view when dressing up. By adding a touch of jewelry or a scarf you can add depth and interest to an otherwise boring look.

Borrow from the Boys

borrowedfromtheboys-2

Banana Republic sweater (from my husband’s closet) & a Wilfred Dress (from my closet)

A man’s closet is a great resource for unexpected pieces that can work perfectly with your existing wardrobe. Scarves, hats, and accessories, like an oversized watch, are some of the easier items to integrate into one of your looks. It may be harder to wear your husband or boyfriend’s actual clothing since you probably wear different sizes but never say never. I discovered the grey knit sweater (pictured above) one evening while sifting through my husband’s closet in desperation, right before heading out to meet some friends. The fit wasn’t right for him so he never wore it but it was perfect for me- slouchy and loose but not TOO big that it looked out of place.

 

Have you ever been in a style rut? If so, how did you get yourself out of it? Let me know in the comment section!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “How to get out of a style rut

  1. the4x6 says:

    I read a while ago that you tend to lean towards the fashionable styles from the time you felt most comfortable and confident with your body. I’m stuck in the grunge era, back when I was most active/athletic. I think I may need professional help!

    Like

Leave a Reply

